Christian God: Irrefutable Proof

3490328_origOkay all you non-believers out there! I have irrefutable proof of the existence of God.  The one true God, not Allah, Odin, Vishnu or any of those other cut-price, junior under-gods.  Nope I mean The Big G of Christianity, who’s name is Yahweh.

Bet you feel pretty stupid now, eh?

Yep! Nothing to look forward to except an eternity in really hot bath with a brimstoney feel to it.  Best you start praying pretty damned quick! What? You want to see my proof?

Well it’s been right in front of your eyes for the past 2,000 years or so, and it is… The Bible! The actual word of old Lordy himself.  It even TELLS you it’s evidence.

“Hebrews 11:1 – Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”

Your Atheist goose is cooked… Or more accurately cremated, for eternity!Actually, I’m kidding.  There isn’t any evidence really, but you knew that already, didn’t you? But it does raise an interesting point.  What if those pesky religious types actually came up with proof of God’s existence?

Empirical, irrefutable evidence backed up with a mountain of peer-reviewed data that he was the Real Deal? And yes, he did live in the big mansion at the end of the gravel drive behind the pearly gates?

What if he turned up on national television, performed a few miracles, smote a few non-believers and had No. 1 Son to do his party piece on the nearest swimming pool?

Would you convert to Christianity?

Would you believe in him?

Would you worship him?

If you’re anything like me, the answer to these questions would still be no.

How can I put this?

77529841Okay, look at the picture over there on the right.  That’s Stella, my dog.  She’s been with me for about 6 years. I’ve fed her, walked her, thrown any amount of sticks and balls for her.  She snuggles up to me to watch telly and occasionally takes up more real estate on the bed than you might think possible.

Do I believe in her existence?  Of course not.  I don’t need to as I know she exists… especially when she farts… Trust me on that one.  The aromas she can produce let you know she’s there from two streets away.  She is loving, friendly and cute as a cute thing from Cute Land on National Cute Day.  But I still don’t believe in her existence. Simply because of the evidence. I have my lived experience, photos (loads of them), videos, eye-witness corroboration from other people who have also seen her, normally when she is nicking their dog’s ball.

I know she exists.

What I don’t have, is a 2,000 year old book telling me about the existence of Dog, a multi-billion dollar industry telling me to believe the book… and nothing else!

My point, you say?

Stella exists so no belief is required.  And it’s the same thing with religion.

As Douglas Adams said in The Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy:

“Now it is such a bizarrely improbable coincidence that anything that mindbogglingly useful could have evolved purely by chance that some thinkers have chosen to see it as a final and clinching proof of the nonexistence of God. The argument goes something like this:

“I refuse to prove that I exist,” says God, “for proof denies faith, and without faith I am nothing.”

“But,” says man, “the Babel fish is a dead giveaway, isnt it? It could not have evolved by chance. It proves you exist, and so therefore, by your own arguments, you don´t. QED.”

“Oh dear,” says God, “I hadn´t thought of that,” and promptly vanishes in a puff of logic.

“Oh, that was easy,” says man, and for an encore goes on to prove that black is white and gets himself killed on the next zebra crossing. “

A ridiculous example, perhaps.  But it does illustrate the ridiculousness of religious belief and especially the espousal that faith=evidence.

Now onto the other bit of the question, that is, would I worship him?And that, I can state quite categorically, is a resounding no!  You only have to read the bible to see the great many acts of genocide, needless cruelty, murder, incest and rape (including child rape) that God is either responsible for, or at least approves of.  I suggest that any being, regardless of any supernatural power he may possess is far from worthy of my worship.Not only would I prefer to spend an eternity in the lava pools of despair, I would insist upon it if the alternative was to spend any time at all in the company of such a monster!

To summarise then, if God existed, would I stop being an Atheist?

Of course, I’d have to.

Would I become a Christian?

Wouldn’t need to.

Would I worship God?

Christ no!

This entry was posted in Atheism, Christianity, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment